2009-05-27 / Front Page

MCHS graduates 91

by MCL staff writer

Graduated seniors do the traditional throwing of the caps.
The Miller County High School Gymnasium was completely filled with parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, and friends of the 2009 Miller County High School graduates Friday evening, May 22, 2009.

This year's class chose the motto, "Live each day so that you will neither be afraid of tomorrow nor ashamed of yesterday." The class flower remains the red rose while the class colors are red and white.

The large crowd rose as the Miller County High School Band, under the direction of Mr. Richard Horne, played "Pomp and Circumstance," by Elgar, and the junior marshals led the MCHS Class of 2009 under the arch and to the chairs in the end of the gymnasium.

This year's junior marshals were Shakell Grant, Chelsea Grimes, Shanice Grimsley, LeAndra Kelley, Will Martin, Alan Mickael Sherburn, Frank Sisson and Bret Snow.

The honor graduates for the Class of 2009 were Janay Ancheta, Deana Barwick, Courtney Brownlee, Syltoya Bush, Cassietta Coon, Christy Daniels, Taneila Douglas, Amber Espinoza, Colby Gilbert, Brittany Goodwin, Brittany Grant, Nikki Griffin, Jordie King, Jordan Kirkland, Kelly Lane, Chelsea Larkins, Brittany Miller, James Newberry, Laci Phillips, Megan Phillips, Shelton Pickle, Kendra Pickren, Ben Posey, Shelby Standifer, and Brooke Widner.

Kelly Lane gave the invocation followed by Brittany Grant leading the Pledge of Allegiance.

The welcome was given by Laci Phillips. The introduction of the Class of 2009 salutatorian was given by Tanelia Douglas and Chelsea Larkins. This year's salutatorian was Syltoya Bush.

Megan Phillips, Class of 2009 valedictorian, was introduced by Kendra Pickren and Shelby Standifer.

Each of the two gave inspiring speeches to their classmates and to the audience.

After the presentation of awards, the roll call of the seniors was given by Janay Ancheta, Deana Barwick, Cassietta Coon, Amber Espinoza, Brittany Goodwin, Nikki Griffin, Jordan Kirkland, Brittany Miller, and Brooke Widner.

The awarding of the diplomas was by Robert Phillips, Miller County School superintendent, and Robert McIntosh, Miller County High School principal.

The turning of the tassels was given by Colby Gilbert, James Newberry, Shelton Pickle, and Ben Posey.

Christy Daniels followed with the Graduate's Creed after which Courtney Brownlee read a poem to her classmates and to the crowd.

Janay Ancheta, Syltoya Bush, Antavious Grant, Megan Phillips, Kendra Pickren, and Shelby Standifer led in singing "I'm not Gonna Cry," by Smith.

The singing of the Alma Mater by the senior class followed. Jordie King gave the benediction after which Principal Robert McIntosh presented the Class of 2009 to the packed gymnasium.

The senior sponsors are Joye Bailey, Joe Cook, KaCee Holt, Linda Penton Knight, Amanda Long, and Leigh Ann Walton.

Return to top